the Sparrow goes to NYC

My name is Marissa and I am a student at O’More College of Design. I recently finished my sophomore year, and before I could begin my junior year over the summer, New York was the next adventure. Which is what this awesome blog will be about!

At first, when I found out I had to go to New York I was very nervous and did not want to go. It seemed like everything bad always happens in NY. Transformers come to life battling Decepticons, Loki and his army of aliens come to take over Earth, then there are the everyday robberies, theft, and explosions…however, I know that I’m just being silly. There are good times too. Reaching for the same pair of gloves at Bloomingdale’s, only to learn that it’s just the beginning of your whirlwind fateful romance. Meeting your true love at the top of the Empire State building, and eating a cup of yogurt on the Met steps with your friends. In all seriousness I was nervous about how many people would be there, how bad things do happen…but it’s all apart of life and bad things don’t happen all the time.

But, I knew that it was something I had to do, so I started planning my trip and gaining excitement with every event we added to the list. Eat at as many delicious, one-of-a-kind restaurants as possible, walk in Central Park, go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, Brooklyn Bridge…and the list goes on. It was a school trip ultimately, which meant we were going to meet with designers and merchandisers and others in the industry. After our meeting I got the list of appointments and researched them ASAP. All of them sounded very exciting and I couldn’t wait to meet everyone and see what they did everyday.

So I packed my bags, making sure they were not over the weight limit, made sure I had a ride to the airport, and got a restless night’s sleep the night before we left.

 

 

 

Leave a comment